Visitor restrictions and mask requirements are still in place at all Scripps facilities. If you suspect you have COVID, please visit MyScripps first and answer the COVID-19 Symptom Checker questions. 

Your browser is out-of-date!

Internet Explorer 11 has been retired by Microsoft as of June 15, 2022. To get the best experience on this website, we recommend using a modern browser, such as Safari, Chrome or Edge.


Scripps CEO Nominated for "Most Influential People in Healthcare" List

Voting open through June 13 on Modern Healthcare website

About Executive Team Chris Van Gorder 200×250

Once again, Scripps Health President and CEO Chris Van Gorder has been nominated for Modern Healthcare’s annual listing of the most influential people in health care.

Anyone can cast a ballot by clicking here. Voting is open through June 13.

As a national leader and innovator in the fast-changing environment of health care, Van Gorder has appeared in several previous versions of the prestigious ranking by the industry magazine.

His initiatives at Scripps have reduced costs while boosting the quality of patient care, helping to make the San Diego-based health system an industry model and placing Scripps among the top five large health care providers in the nation as recognized by Truven Health Analytics.

Earlier this year, Van Gorder received the American College of Health Care Executives’ Gold Medal Award, the highest honor bestowed by the organization on outstanding health care leaders.

Also making this year’s Modern Healthcare ballot was Scripps Health Chief Academic Officer Eric Topol, MD, who also previously appeared in the listing.

Dr. Topol is an internationally recognized cardiologist, geneticist, researcher and digital medicine pioneer who is leading a technology revolution that promises to transform the delivery of health care services, lower the cost of medicine and individualize the treatment of many illnesses.

The 300 nominees were selected from thousands of submissions, Modern Healthcare editors said. Online voting and magazine editors will determine the winners, who will be announced in the Aug. 25 edition of the publication.

Media Contact

Keith Darce