Scripps Mercy Hospital Designated as Level I Trauma Center

Hospital to join county trauma system

Scripps Mercy Hospital is now designated a Level I Trauma Center. The hospital received the recognition on Tuesday by the County of San Diego, Board of Supervisors.

In order to be a Level I Trauma Center, the hospital must meet specified criteria related to patient volume performance, access to surgical specialists and services, as well as leadership in education and research. The designation was made official today by the County of San Diego, Board of Supervisors.

Although, Scripps Mercy’s level 1 designation will not result in any changes to the hospital’s present trauma system operations or triage system, the level I designation offers a number of benefits to San Diego’s trauma system, community and Scripps Mercy Hospital. The designation enables Scripps Mercy to participate and expand future trauma research projects through available grant monies. The designation also enhances recruitment opportunities for motivated and highly skilled medical and nursing personnel. In addition, the San Diego trauma system and community benefit from the increase in trauma research programs and the availability of higher level trauma prevention resources.

Scripps Mercy is one of six trauma centers in San Diego County. The other five trauma centers are located at the following hospitals:

  • UCSD Medical Center – Level I Trauma Center
  • Scripps Memorial Hospital La Jolla – Level II Trauma Center
  • Sharp Memorial Hospital – Level II Trauma Center
  • Palomar Medical Center – Level II Trauma Center
  • Children’s Hospital and Health Center – Pediatric Level II Trauma Center

Media Contact

Janice Collins

Related tags: