Ghazala Sharieff

Ghazala Sharieff, MD, MBA, Corporate Senior Vice President, Chief Medical Officer of Clinical Excellence and Experience.

Ghazala Sharieff, MD, MBA

Corporate Senior Vice President, Chief Medical and Operations Officer, Acute Care

As corporate senior vice president, chief medical and operations officer, acute care, Dr. Ghazala Sharieff engages physicians and staff in the coordination and management of inpatient clinical care and the reduction of unnecessary variation — especially as it relates to patient experience, quality and safety. Taken together, these efforts help us provide comprehensive, compassionate care for our patients and their loved ones.

Board-certified in emergency and pediatric emergency medicine, Dr. Sharieff serves as chief medical and operations officer for Scripps’ hospitals and has leadership over acute care operations. She also has oversight of Scripps pharmacy, supply chain, inpatient imaging, engineering, environmental services, food and nutrition, security, and disaster/emergency management.

Dr. Sharieff previously served as Scripps' chief experience officer, as medical director of quality and medical management and as the Rady Children's Hospital emergency department division director. She is a published author with two books on emergency medicine and is a recognized author and lecturer on pediatric emergency medicine, patient experience, conflict management and team building. Her innovative approach to identifying patient concerns and her work with physicians and staff have led to significant patient experience improvements.

Dr. Sharieff earned her medical degree from Michigan State University’s College of Human Medicine, completed her residency in emergency medicine at Stanford University and a fellowship in pediatric emergency medicine at Rady Children’s Hospital. She received her physician executive MBA at the University of Knoxville in Tennessee.

Dr. Sharieff has also served on several national committees including as past chair of the ACEP Pediatric Emergency Medicine Committee, past chair of the ACEP Pediatric Section, the ACEP Public Relations Committee, the AAEM Board of Directors and as co-chair of the AAEM Education Committee.